Fetch the Rum!

10 Mar

As part of a promise to myself to absorb more ‘culture’ this year, I set myself a challenge this week: to watch a film everyday, one that I had never seen before be it new or old. I’ve got through some crackers this week: Factotum, Rapt, Coco Before Chanel, Public Enemies, We Need to Talk About Kevin and finally The Rum Diary.

The Rum Diary is set is Puerto Rico in the 50’s, it’s colourful, summery and fun but every time Amber Heard walked on screen I was filled with envy and intrigue: how can a woman look so amazing?! With classic fashions and make-up from the period, a faultless Barbie-esque up-do and a glowing tan throughout, I’m frankly mortified that I don’t look like that.

Leave a Reply

